Hydrological Sciences

Updates from the HS Division Meeting

Updates from the HS Division Meeting

The annual division meeting for Hydrological Sciences is the place to get updated on the latest developments of our division. It was great to see that hundreds of you attended. For those that did not attend (or for those that appreciate a reminder of what happened), here are some of the highlights:

  • The Hydrological Sciences Division has a new president: Maria-Helena Ramos will serve as the president for (at least) the coming two years. We thank outgoing president Elena Toth for all her work the past four years.
  • Several new officers have been appointed. Kerstin Stahl and Alberto Viglione now lead the Catchment Hydrology subdivision and Anke Hildebrandt now leads the subdivision on Ecohydrology, wetlands and estuaries. Caitlyn Hall is the new Early Career Scientist Representative.
  • The 2019 John Dalton Medal was awarded to Günter Blöschl for pioneering major advances in hydrological predictions.
  • The 2019 Henry Darcy Medal was awarded to Petra Döll for groundbreaking work in global freshwater system modelling.
  • The 2019 HS Division Outstanding Early Career Scientists Award was delivered to Serena Ceola for her contributions to the understanding of the interplay of river dynamics, fluvial ecology and human activities.
  • The 2018 HESS outstanding editor awards go to Jan Seibert and Nadia Ursino.
  • The Jim Dooge Awards for the two most outstanding papers of HESS go to: Allen et al. (2019). Seasonal origins of soil water used by trees, and Delobbe et al. (2019). Exploring the use of underground gravity monitoring to evaluate radar estimates of heavy rainfall
  • Finally, there were 7 HS winners for the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO Awards 2018: Petra Kovácsné Bodor, Maximilian Ramgraber,Gabriela Guimarães Nobre, Bahareh Kianfar,Mayumi Hamada, Sharlene L. Gomes, and Federica Bertoni.

    Click here to display content from Twitter.
    Learn more in Twitter’s privacy policy.

What’s coming next?

  • The 2019 Leonardo conference will take place 16-18. October 2019 in Esch/Alzette (Luxembourg) and has the topic “Global change, landscape ageing and the pulse of catchments”. See here for past conferences and contact the HS Division if you want to organize the next one.
  • In 2020, the EGU GA will take place from 3 to 8 May in Vienna (see website). The next deadline for HS members is for nominations of candidates for the John Dalton and Henry Darcy 2020 medals, and for the 2020 Division Outstanding ECS award; all due to 15th June 2019. Nominations can be submitted online; see instructions here.

For more details, you can find the PowerPoint presentation of the HS business meeting here. Any comments or suggestions can be posted here below or sent by email to hs@egu.eu

Wouter Berghuijs is a postdoctoral researcher at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (Switzerland). His work covers a broad range of topics within hydrology, mostly focusing on hydrological extremes. Previously, Wouter served as the Early Career Scientist Representative of the HS Division, and as the Early Career Scientist Representative of the entire EGU.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>